Over 400 years ago, the Wampanoag Indians were the first to discover the pleasures of summering at Wequassett, swimming and fishing in the Bay’s clear waters, chipping arrowheads from colored stones on the shore, and gathering quahog and periwinkle shells for wampum.
They named the land Wequassett, which means “crescent on the water,” most likely because the sand-spit curves about the Cove are in the crescent shape. In 1665, Sachem John Quason Towsowett sold the land to William Nickerson, who eventually settled the town of Chatham.
Of the 22 historic buildings that comprise the resort, two boast especially noteworthy stories. The Eben Ryder House, known locally as “Square Top,” was actually built in the nearby town of Brewster. In 1907 it was “flaked,” or disassembled, and moved to Wequassett on large flat-bed trucks. Our registration building, the 1740 Warren Jensen Nickerson House, was also transported to its present site.